About CultureCapital


CultureCapital sparks connections among arts, business, and government leaders; ignites professional development in the field, and invites the public to experience the magic of the arts in Metro DC.

About Us

CultureCapital, founded in 1978 by arts and business leaders as the Cultural Alliance of Greater Washington, is a non-profit membership umbrella organization that unites the Metro DC arts community and provides services and resources to strengthen their organizations. After two years of research, led by the Taproot Foundation, our new name and logo reflect our identity and purpose to connect, engage, and promote the arts. We are CultureCapital, Your Metro DC Arts Alliance. Click Here for more information.

Annual Meeting
Thursday, October 9, 2014


1101 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, VA

Networking, Panel discussion, Meeting
RSVP by Friday, October 3 via email to
Include Organization name, list of staff attending, their positions and email.

Panel Discussion - Bold Steps, Can’t Reboot!
The transformation of the arts demands forward thinking. Our panelists, Mario Garcia Durham, President & CEO of Arts Presenters and Mark Shugoll, CEO of Shugoll Research will discuss how: changes in technology, audience buying patterns, STE(A)M and education, proliferation of organizations, reduction in institutional giving, AND the economy have inspired the creation of exciting new practices for arts organizations to align and connect to their communities.
Panel Facilitator: Board member Monica Jeffries Hazangeles, President, Strathmore.










President - Jennifer Cover Payne
email - phone (202) 393-2161 x23

Vice President - Eileen Rappoport
email - phone (202) 393-2161 x24 Site Administrator - Laura Bloomquist
email - phone (202) 393-2161 x14 Treasurer - Steven Cupo
email - phone (202) 393-2161 x10

Location and Office Information

Office Location
923 F Street NW #303
Washington, DC 20004

Mailing Address
975 F Street NW
Washington, DC 20004

Open Mon-Thu, 9am-5pm. Except Holidays
Driving Directions
METRO: Gallery Place-Chinatown

Board of Directors


Carl L. Hairston

Administrative Vice President & Regional Manager, Capital Region
M&T Bank Corporation

Beth Brummel

Wolf Trap Foundation for the Performing Arts

Armando Mieles


Arnold P. Lutzker

Lutzker & Lutzker LLP

Board of Directors

Huey Battle
Regional Manager Community Involvement
Washington Gas

Elaine Boyle
Director American Express Global Merchant Services
American Express Company � Establishment Services

Dr. Jacqueline Brown
Executive Director
Prince George's African American Museum and Cultural Center at North Brentwood

Rhonda Dallas
Executive Director
Prince George's Arts & Humanities Council

Scott P. DeMartino
Bryan Cave

Brenda Durham
VP and Assistant General Counsel
Marriott International, Inc.

Marc Eisenberg
Executive Director
Washington Bach Consort

Juan Gaddis
Executive Vice President
Fort Lincoln New Town Corporation

Monica Jefferies Hazangeles

Suzan Jenkins
Arts and Humanities Council of Montgomery County

Kathy Kruse
Vice President of Institutional Affairs
The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts

Rosemary Reed
Double R Productions, LLC

Lesli Rotenberg
Senior Vice President
Marketing & Communications, PBS

Diane Ruggiero
Deputy Director, Office of the Arts
Dept. of Recreation, Parks and Cultural Activities (Alexandria, VA)

Kathy Southern
Arts Advocate

Linda Sullivan
President & CEO
Arts Council of Fairfax County

Lionell Thomas
Executive Director
DC Commission on the Arts & Humanities

Karen Vasquez
Arlington Cultural Affairs
Arlington Economic Development

David Mann

Marriott International, Inc.

William Tartikoff � John Veihmeyer � Alex Orfinger � Anthony J. Buzzelli � Catherine Meloy � Richard W. Dugan � William C. Harris � Patrick J. Kenny � Harry M. Linowes � R.A. Rankin Jr. � Geoffrey Edwards � Jay Nussbaum � Stephen D. Harlan � Delano Lewis